Department Of Anaesthesia

  • Anaesthesia is given to patients so that surgery and other medical procedures can be carried out safely, and without pain.
  • The word anaesthesia means ‘loss of sensation’.
  • Anaesthesia can be relatively simple, like numbing an area around during treatment.
  • The Department of Anaesthesiology forms a key link between the surgical fraternities and the patients undergoing a variety of surgical procedures.
  • All clinical departments are anchored to our specialty.
  • Keeping pace with the development of medical sciences, Anaesthesia services are being provided for a wide variety of surgical cases. These include general surgery, paediatric surgery, obstetrics & gynaecology including family planning cases, ophthalmology, otorhinolaryngology, orthopaedics, oral and faciomaxillary surgery.
  • Undergraduates though have limited exposure to this branch, they are introduced to basics of anaesthesiology, airway management and vascular access procedures.
  • PGs experience a rigorous routine training under this department as they need to practice around procedures from most branches of medical study. Residents are also actively trained to manage post-operative pain.
Faculty Of Anaesthesia Department
  • Dr SiddarameshweraHarsoor - Professor & HOD
  • Dr M Salim Iqbal - Professor
  • Dr Santhosh Kumar R - Professor
  • Dr Reshma B M - Associate Professor
  • Dr Nandini C V - Assistant Professor
  • Dr Deepak Vijay Kumar Kadlimatti - Assistant Professor
  • Dr Neha Guptha - Assistant Professor
  • Dr Syed Adeeba Nouhsheen - Assistant Professor
  • Dr Merin varghese - Assistant Professor
  • Dr Vidya Shree - Assistant Professor
  • Dr Nagashree J Bharadwaj - Senior Resident
  • Dr Vridhi Rajan - Senior Resident
  • Dr Shirley Poulin - Senior Resident